Shoutbox (Disabled)

My road to nursery

Discussion in 'Unrelated Discussion' started by Danny088888, Aug 9, 2016.

1. Danny088888

Danny088888 New Member

Well Hi, all,

I'm Danny, and as most of you know; I'm a nurse. Or at least trying to become one. I wanted to share this story with you because recently I've been recieving the question of how I decided / became a nurse. So to answer that; grab a drink and some popcorn, because this will be a loooong story :p.

It all started when I was 14. I had to drop a level lower education at highschool, because I couldn't get sufficient notes for specific subjects I needed to complete. That mainly happened because I got very sick and I just couldn't recover from that.

Anyways, because I dropped one level, as a "punishment" I had to take a 10 week internship at ANY company / settlement of my choosing. Ultimately, I decided on an activity home for people with a physical and / or a mental disability. I grew to absolutely LOVE what I was doing, just from helping those people with eating and drinking, to playing musical chairs and just talking with them really opened my eyes. From that moment on, I knew I wanted to work in healthcare.

Still the question remains; 'But Danny, how did you end up in a hospital, as a nurse?'

Well, as soon as I knew I wanted to work in healthcare, I decided to compare my personality to the different aspects of healthcare. I've always had a caring and social personality and I've never been one to just lay down on the couch, being bored and having nothing to do. I knew I wanted to work hard in order to achieve complex goals, and the reward of people being happy with the things I've achieved, which would give me that satisfaction I need in life. So I went on to study nursery. Got a few internships out of my education, which were mandatory.